State Laws & Regulations in Louisiana


Specifically Permitted Consumer fireworks as defined by DOT and the CPSC. (This includes: cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, illuminating torches, pyrotechnic wheel devices, ground spinners, flitter sparklers, toy smoke devices, sky rockets and bottle rockets, missile- type rockets, helicopter aerial spinners, roman candles, mines or shells, firecrackers, and multiple tube fireworks.
Specifically Prohibited Cherry bombs, tubular salutes, 2” American-made salutes, firecrackers with casings exceeding 1½”in length or ¼” in diameter, repeating bombs, aerial bombs, torpedoes exceeding 3/8” in diameter, roman candles larger than 10 ball, and sky rockets with a casing of less than 5/8” in diameter and less than 2 7/8” in length, with an over all length of 15”.
Selling Period Noon June 16 through midnight July 5, and noon December 15 through midnight January 1.
Age of purchase 15 years
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal or certified local authorities at least 5 days before event, $100 fee.
Insurance None specifically required in state law
Operator Displays must be conducted under the control of a Fire Marshall licensed operator. The operator, among other requirements, must be 21 and pass a written test.
STORAGE/DISPLAY/ TRANSPORTATION Storage, handling, and transportation requirements specified in state law.

Apply to State Fire Marshal for annual license before April 1. Operator (1.3G displays) $50 initial, $25 annual renewal. Special effects operator (1.3G, 1.4G & 1.4S displays) $50 initial, $25 annual renewal.

Fees: Manufacturer $10,000

          Assembler $1,000

          Distributor $2,000

          Importer $500   

         Jobber $250 

         Retailer, resident $100

         Retailer, nonresident $800


The Louisiana State Fire Marshal's Office

Fire Marshal H. "Butch" Browning, Jr

8181 Independence Blvd.

Baton Rouge, LA 70806-4125

Phone: 1-800-256-5452; 225-925-3649

LAW NUMBER La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 51:650 through 51:660; La. Admin. Code tit. 55, § 1901 - 1905

American Pyrotechnics Association